The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    McDaniel College
   
 
  Jul 24, 2017
 
 
    
Skip Navigation
2012-2013 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

2012-2013 Academic Calendar


   
   

Summer Term 2012

^ Top
   
Summer Session Mon., May 21-Sat., July 28
Memorial Day - No classes May 28
Fall Graduate Registration begins Sun., July 1
Fourth of July - No classes Wed., July 4
Graduate Comprehensive Exams Sat., July 7
   

Fall Semester 2012

^ Top
   
Graduate semester begins (consult course listing for start date)

Wed., Aug. 1

Opening Faculty Meeting (10 a.m.) and Remarks to the College Community (1:30 p.m.) Tues., Aug. 21
Introduction Convocation Wed., Aug. 22
Orientation Wed., Aug. 22-Sun., Aug. 26
Undergraduate and most Graduate classes begin Mon., Aug. 27
Labor Day - No classes Mon., Sept.3
Last date to add an undergraduate class, 4:30 p.m. Wed., Sept. 5
Last date for UG course drops & credit/fail, 4:30 p.m. Mon., Sept. 17
January Term undergraduate registration Mon., Sept. 24-Fri. Sept. 28
Families Weekend Fri.-Sun., Sept. 21-23
Fall Break - No classes (Undergraduates only) Mon. & Tues., Oct. 15-16
Mid semester UG grades due in the Registrar’s Office, 12 noon Wed., Oct. 17
Graduate Comprehensive Exams Sat., Oct. 20
Last date to withdraw from UG courses w/ “W” grade, 4:30 p.m. Mon., Oct. 29
Homecoming Sat., Nov. 3
Spring Undergraduate registration Mon., Nov. 5-Fri., Nov. 16
Thanksgiving recess begins, 10 p.m. Tues., Nov. 20
Classes resume, 8:00 a.m. Mon., Nov. 26
Spring Graduate registration begins Sat., Dec. 1
Undergraduate classes end Fri., Dec. 7
Reading Days Sat. & Sun., Dec. 8 & 9
Undergraduate examinations begin Mon. Dec. 10
Undergraduate semester ends Fri., Dec. 14
Graduate semester ends

Sat., Dec. 15

Undergraduate final grades due in Registrar’s Office, 10 a.m. Tues., Dec. 18
Graduate final grades due in Registrar’s Office, 10 a.m. 48 hrs after last day of class
 
   

January Term 2013

^ Top
   
January Term begins, 10 a.m. Thurs., Jan. 3
Last day for course changes, 4:30 p.m. Fri., Jan. 4
Last date to withdraw from course w/ “W” grade, 4:30 p.m. Mon., Jan. 7
College Holiday–no classes-Martin Luther King, Jr., day observed Mon., Jan. 21
January Term Ends Wed., Jan. 23
January Term final grades due in Registrar’s Office, 10 a.m. Fri., Jan. 25
   

Spring Semester 2013

^ Top
   
Graduate semester begins (consult Archway for specific start date) Wed., Jan. 2
Undergraduate and most Graduate classes begin Mon., Jan. 28
Last day to add an undergraduate class, 4:30 p.m. Tues., Feb. 5
Last date for UG course drops and credit/fail, 4:30 p.m. Mon., Feb. 18
Spring undergraduate recess begins, 7 p.m. Fri., March 15
Spring Graduate recess begins, 5 p.m. Sat., March 16
Graduate Comprehensive Exams Sat., March 16
Mid semester UG grades due in the Registrar’s Office, 12 noon Tues., March 19
Classes resume, 8:00 a.m. Mon., March 25
Last date to withdraw from UG course w/ “W” grade, 4:30 p.m. Fri., March 29
Summer Graduate registration begins Mon, April 1
Fall undergraduate registration Mon., April 8-Fri., April 19
Spring Awards Ceremony Sun. April 28
Undergraduate classes end Fri., May 10
Reading days Sat. & Sun., May 11 & 12
Undergraduate examinations begin Mon., May 13
Graduate semester ends Wed., May 15
Graduate final grades due in the Registrar’s Office, 10 a.m. 48 hrs after last day of class
Undergraduate semester ends Fri., May 17
Undergraduate final grades due in the Registrar’s Office, 10 a.m. Tues., May 21
Senior Week Sun. - Fri., May 19-24
Senior Investiture and Honors Convocation Fri., May 24
Commencement Sat., May 25
   
  ^Top