The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    McDaniel College
   
 
  Nov 21, 2017
 
 
    
2016-2017 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

2016-2017 Academic Calendar


 

Summer Term 2016

^ Top
Summer Session Mon., May 23-Fri., July 28
UG Summer Session I May 23-June 23
UG Summer Session II June 27-July 28
Fall Graduate Registration begins Fri., July 1
Independence Day observed - No classes Mon., July 4
Graduate Comprehensive Experience Sat., July 9

 

Fall Semester 2016

^ Top
Graduate online and off-campus classes begin Mon., Aug. 22
Opening Faculty Meeting and Remarks to the College Community Tues., Aug. 23
Introduction Convocation Wed., Aug. 24
Orientation Wed., Aug. 24-Sun., Aug. 28
Undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes begin Mon., Aug. 29
Last date to add an undergraduate class, 4:30 p.m. Fri., Sept. 2
Late undergraduate adds processed with $30 late fee Sat., Sept. 3-Fri., Sept. 9
Labor Day, no classes Mon., Sept. 5
Last date for UG course drops, credit/fail & audit, 4:30 p.m. Fri., Sept. 9
Family Weekend Fri., Sept.23-Sat., Sept. 24
January Term undergraduate registration Mon., Sept. 26-Fri., Sept. 30
Fall Break - No classes (Undergraduates only) Mon., Oct. 17-Tues., Oct. 18
Graduate Comprehensive Experience Sat., Oct.15
Mid semester UG grades due in the Registrar’s Office, 12 noon Wed., Oct. 19
Homecoming Sat., Oct. 22
Last date to withdraw from UG courses with “W” grade, 4:30 p.m. Mon., Oct. 31
Late undergraduate withdrawals processed with $30 late fee Tues., Nov. 1-Fri., Nov. 4
Spring Undergraduate registration Mon., Nov. 7-Fri., Nov. 18
Thanksgiving recess begins, 10 p.m. Tues., Nov. 22
Classes resume, 8:00 a.m. Mon., Nov. 28
Spring Graduate registration begins Thurs., Dec. 1
Undergraduate classes end Fri., Dec. 9
Reading Days Sat., Dec, 10-Sun., Dec. 11
Undergraduate examinations begin Mon. Dec. 12
Undergraduate semester ends Fri., Dec. 16
Graduate semester ends Sat., Dec. 17
Graduate and Undergraduate final grades due 48 hrs. after the last day of class

 

January Term 2017

^ Top
January Term begins, 10 a.m. Tues., Jan. 3
Last day to add a class, 4:30 p.m. Wed., Jan. 4
Late adds processed with $30 late fee Thurs., Jan 5
Last day to drop a class, 4:30 p.m. Thurs., Jan. 5
Last date to withdraw from course with “W” grade, 4:30 p.m. Fri., Jan. 6
Late withdrawals processed with $30 late fee Mon., Jan. 9
Martin Luther King, Jr., Holiday - no classes observed Mon., Jan. 16
January Term Ends Fri., Jan. 20
January Term final grades due 48 hrs. after exam/last class

 

Spring Semester 2017

^ Top
Graduate off-campus classes begin Mon., Jan. 9
Graduate online classes begin Mon., Jan. 16
Undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes begin Mon., Jan. 23
EPE Session A Mon., Jan. 23 - Fri., Feb. 23
Last day to add EPE Session A Wed., Jan. 25
EPE Session A adds processed with $30 late fee Thurs., Jan. 26 - Fri., Jan. 27
Last day for EPE Session A drops, credit/fail & audit Fri., Jan. 27
Last day to add an undergraduate class, 4:30 p.m. Fri., Jan. 27
Late undergraduate adds processed with $30 late fee Sat., Jan. 28 - Fri., Feb. 3
Last date for UG course drops, credit/fail & audit, 4:30 p.m. Fri., Feb. 3
Last day to withdraw from EPE Session A with a “W” grade Wed., Feb. 8
EPE Session A withdrawals processed with $30 late fee Thurs., Feb. 9 - Fri., Feb. 10
EPE Session B Fri., Feb. 24 - Tues., April 4
Last day to add EPE Session B Tues., Feb. 28
EPE Session B adds processed with a $30 late fee Wed., March 1 - Thurs., March 2
Last day for EPE Session B drops, credit/fail & audit Thurs., March 2
Spring undergraduate recess begins, 7 p.m. Fri., March 10
Spring Graduate recess begins, 5 p.m. Sat., March 11
Graduate Comprehensive Experience Sat., March 11
Mid semester UG grades due in the Registrar’s Office, 12 noon Tues., March 14
Classes resume, 8:00 a.m. Mon., March 20
Last day to withdraw from EPE Session B with a “W” grade Tues., March 21
EPE Session B withdrawals processed with a $30 late fee Wed., March 22 - Thurs., March 23
Last date to withdraw from UG course with “W” grade, 4:30 p.m. Fri., March 24
Late undergraduate withdrawals processed with $30 late fee Sat., March 25 - Fri., March 31
Summer Graduate registration begins Sat., April 1
Fall undergraduate registration Mon., April 3-Fri., April 14
EPE Session C Wed., April 5 - Fri., May 5
Last day to add EPE Session C Fri., April 7
EPE Session C adds processed with a $30 late fee Sat., April 8 - Tues., April 11
Last day for EPE Session C drops, credit/fail & audit Tues., April 11
Last day to withdraw from EPE Session C with a “W” grade Fri., April 21
EPE Session C withdrawals processed with a $30 late fee Sat., April 22 - Tues., April 25
Spring Undergraduate Awards Ceremony Sat., April 22
Undergraduate classes end Fri., May 5
Reading days Sat., May 6-Sun., May 7
Undergraduate examinations begin Mon., May 8
Undergraduate semester ends Fri., May 12
Graduate semester ends Mon., May 15
Graduate and Undergraduate final grades due 48 hrs. after the last day of class
Senior Week Mon., May 15- Fri., May 19
Senior Investiture and Honors Convocation Fri., May 19
Commencement Sat., May 20